Images of a hearth druid’s devotions

I remembered yesterday afternoon that there is usually a group flame tending on a fire festival date.  I mentioned this on the Clann Bhride facebook page and I had fortunately remembered correctly in time for reminders to go out to the other members of the flame tending cill.  When the group tending takes place it is from the sunset of the day before the festival date to the following sunset in our own location.  So this meant from sunset 31st July to sunset 1st August on this occasion.  The 31st July was also the date of the full moon and as mentioned in my previous post I would be doing my usual devotions to Epona.

I decided to set up both devotional areas next to each other.  I began the devotions for Epona about an hour before sunset and left the candle burning.  At sunset I then lit the flame tending lantern I use for Brigantia. The lantern stays lit for 24 hours, Epona’s candle was blown out before I went to bed and the libation left overnight as is my usual practice. The pictures below were taken last night.

A hearth druid shrine

Devotions

A hearth druid’s devotions

Leave a Reply

