Pagan Tea Time: Get Face to Face

Yesterday I had the wonderful experience of taking part in the Pagan Tea Time initiative. I responded to an invitation from Naomi who blogs as Leithin Cluan at Treasure in Barren Places and I recommend a visit and a good read of her blog.

I loved the idea of being able to connect via Skype with someone whose writing I have come to enjoy so much but who I hadn’t met so I replied to the invitation and we managed to find a time and date to suit both of us. That turned out to be yesterday morning.

Once we got through the few technical hitches (I hadn’t used Skype for a long time and our home PC is usually defaulted to headphones for when my daughter is playing Moshi monsters or My little pony!) we began chatting. Our conversation ranged over a few topics including autism, family, what I mean by now saying I am a Hearth Druid, perspectives of our experiences with deities and being part of a community.

We discovered that we have similar feelings about some of our deities, we are both polytheist for example and both have relationships with beings that answer to the name Cailleach. We have no way of knowing if we are relating to the same being of similar ones but our experiences and feelings about our Cailleachan seemed remarkably similar. We also seemed to have similar feelings about our respective relationships with Brigantia/Bridget.

There were also differences as well of course. My devotional practices are once a moon where Naomi has daily devotional practices. I use more singing in my practices and Naomi uses more prayers often based on words in the Carmina Gadelica.

We chatted about our connections with local Pagans, in particular getting to moots and Druid grove meetings. I think we both face challenges in connecting with parts of our local Pagan community. Our challenges are very different in nature but the need to connect and the frustration our challenges can cause us seemed pretty similar to me. I suspect that’s one reason Naomi chose to make the Pagan Tea Time invitation and it’s definitely why I responded.

I really enjoyed chatting with Naomi in this way and both of us at the end of our conversation said we hoped to be able to do this again sometime. I’m also looking forward to a time when we meet face to face in the same room.

At some stage I know Naomi will be writing a blog post of her own about her experiences with Pagan Tea Time. I look forward to reading it 🙂

Leave a Reply

