Call of the Cailleach

Last week I worked on an article for the Cailleach that I’d promised to do.

I ended up with two versions, one for hopeful publication and one with much more personal information in it that will form the basis of a talk I will be doing at the Pagan Federation Scotland conference on Sat 25th April.

I felt urged to do this last week and I didn’t know why but I completed drafts on Friday.

This morning I heard that the grandmother of a friend died on Sunday. My thoughts are with him and his family in their time of loss.

I find myself wondering at the timing. It is often around death and grief that experiences of the Cailleach can be the most profound as I know from my own expereinces.

I felt moved to sing a gaelic chant that I sang for my grandfather when he died. The words mean “Seek the heavenly light”.

May the souls of the departed rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

